About Us

About Giant Steps Nurseries

Giant Steps Nurseries CIC is a non-for-profit organisation with four nurseries throughout the County Durham area.

Our company is managed by Miss Rachael Fernie (Director) with support from Mrs Paula Eggleston (Director) and Mrs Jane Hunter (Quality Auditor).

We place a great deal of emphasis on ensuring that our childcare and education has a personal touch, offering individuality with a family friendly feel, combined with professionalism and quality facilities.

Giant steps will ensure that the children and their families will be offered a safe and stimulating environment within which children can have fun, be happy and flourish.

  • We are dedicated to providing the highest quality of care and education and will endeavour to work with each child to enable them to reach their full potential.

  • We offer a wide range of carefully planned experiences and opportunities to ensure that each child is provided with a solid foundation for future learning.

  • We work in close partnership with Mams, Dads, Carers, in association with schools, child and family health services to provide quality integration of all services.

Each of our 4 nurseries is inspected in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage.

“The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life” (Department for Education, 2012)

The EYFS guides our team of professionals on how best to work with children and their families to support learning and development from birth to the end of a child’s first reception year in school. In the months leading up to September 2012, the EYFS underwent significant changes, placing a clearer focus on children’s learning and a greater emphasis on working in partnerships with parents to support children’s learning at home.

The new and simpler EYFS framework sets out guidelines to ensure children are equipped with a solid foundation for future progress. Throughout their time with us your child will be gaining new knowledge, learning skills and demonstrating their understanding through 7 Areas of Learning and Development.

Of these, children initially develop the 3 Prime Areas, these are most essential for healthy development: –

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Physical Development
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development


As children progress these Prime Areas will help them to develop skills in the 4 Specific Areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design

A child centred approach is used to plan your child’s learning using the prime and specific areas highlighted above. Our highly qualified practitioners guide learning and development through effective teaching and support. All children’s achievements are recognised during their individual Learning Journey.